top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureImboredBlogs

Youth Loneliness

Those two words may seem like an oxymoron. Two words that are not supposed to be seen together because loneliness is something reserved for the elderly and that's way into the future and doesn't effect us (youth). But a conversation a had yesterday with someone my own age really reminded me about the loneliness that everyone else must feel around me. Generally people seem to forget that if you are struggling in this way, what stops others from feeling the same way? But anyone can be lonely even if you aren't alone. I am surrounded by people constantly whether its classmates, family or even people in the bus. Its rare to be alone, in fact. Loneliness is a feeling of emptiness that is numbing and painful at the same time. Its difficult because it isn't just about making friends with those similar to you but its being able to click with someone and share your struggles with them. Humans are made for each other. We can't live alone and without each other. That is why prison solitary confinement is a punishment. Its painful to live feeling like there is no one else there for you regardless of those around you sometimes.


Another difficult thing I have had with social media and loneliness is the idea that for a long time I have felt alone in my thoughts and beliefs. Until social media exposed thousands of people who think similarly to me. But then I had a problem with it? The idea that now I wasn't the different one and was now the same as everyone else felt lonely within itself. I was drowning in this huge pit where everyone else looked and breathed like me. I didn't feel special or needed or wanted. It was just this obsession with having something I couldn't have anymore.


Bye

Imbored

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Netflix Recommendations

Hey, I thought that something lighthearted and fun might get me back into writing again. Its not that I have been having a writers block or anything because I have plenty to say! It's more that I have

Lets talk: Quarantine edition

2020 really has been something huh. It was clearly not what I planned to spend the new year. From talks of WWIII to a deadly virus setting everyone into 'panic buy toilet paper mode' we really have li

Motivation

People really underestimate their worth and power in this world. They don't understand that they could be the next Gandhi or Einstein. People like them time and time again prove to us that no matter w

bottom of page