top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureImboredBlogs

Lets talk: Quarantine edition

2020 really has been something huh. It was clearly not what I planned to spend the new year. From talks of WWIII to a deadly virus setting everyone into 'panic buy toilet paper mode' we really have lived through a history lesson.


I have wanted to document my writing journey as blogging, even though I haven't done it much, is an outlet for me to express my creativity and to mould my mind so that I can be a voice of reason and hope to people so I can spread my passions and be a catalyst for change. Whether it is 1 or 100.


I've always wanted to be a writer. To publish books and be able to show people the world inside my head. However its a lack of motivation to begin writing and perfectionism that hinders my dreams and chances of success.


Perfectionism.


What I mean by this is not being able to start because of the fear of not being able to finish and for it to be perfect. This impossible standard that is even more difficult to reach when it feels like I am not trying because I can't start. If I can't get it done with all these restraints that I have put on myself for example time taken to write and quality of the writing, that I can't do it. Which means that I would never get it done.


I have started some of it today, trying to start a fresh piece of work. I have compiled a list of rules or tips on how great writer and what keeps a reader engaged.

(In no particular order by the way)


1) You have to find a middle ground between description and dialogue.

2) Make sure that points you mention have a point. Some information to get to know your characters is fine however if you mention a bus stop or a describe a specific corner shop try to have continuity and consistency and bring it up again. For example, that corner shop that was the protagonist's favourite place to go to ended up where the portal to the underworld was.

3) Don't edit until you have a chapter or a couple of pages whatever is reasonable.

(This is a great tip for perfectionists.)

4) Show don't tell it helps the reader stay engaged.


This is a couple of the tips that I had found. For some of these, I had seen them on a couple of blogs and youtube videos.

Here are a few that are great for budding writings like me!

Youtube - TheBookNerd, Jerry B Jenkins, Alessandra Torre


Bye

ImBoredBlogss


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Youth Loneliness

Those two words may seem like an oxymoron. Two words that are not supposed to be seen together because loneliness is something reserved for the elderly and that's way into the future and doesn't effec

Netflix Recommendations

Hey, I thought that something lighthearted and fun might get me back into writing again. Its not that I have been having a writers block or anything because I have plenty to say! It's more that I have

Motivation

People really underestimate their worth and power in this world. They don't understand that they could be the next Gandhi or Einstein. People like them time and time again prove to us that no matter w

bottom of page