top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureImboredBlogs

Netflix Recommendations

Hey,

I thought that something lighthearted and fun might get me back into writing again. Its not that I have been having a writers block or anything because I have plenty to say! It's more that I have been wanting to immediately have everything perfect and that not being authentic to how a writer writes. Editing and limiting myself have always been something that I have struggled with because I always want to impress and please those around me. Also its easier to deal with somebody not liking you if that isn't not truly you.


Anyway Netflix recommendations. These are in no particular order by the way.


1) Behind her eyes

This is a psychological thriller/drama about a single mother who is a Secretary at a psychiatrist office, Louise, who begins an affair with her boss, David Ferguson. However the relationship between David Ferguson and his wife, Adele, leads to Louise down a dangerous road stuck between two people.

2) The Vampire Diaries

This is a mystery show about supernatural beings and how they keep their identities a secret from the world. The lengths that they would go to protect each other and the challenges as a supernatural throughout.

3) Damnation

I have just recently watched it, finished it yesterday in fact! Its about farmer strikes and rights in the south of the US. It looks at the manipulation from bankers and the lengths that they would go to ensure capitalism thrives. What I loved about it most was the motives of both the strikers and strikebreakers and then ingenuity or genuity of both.

4) La Valla

This is a Spanish show and as a person who is not fluent in Spanish at all, but please somebody teach me, found it easy to relate to because of the pandemic we are in. Its about Spain 20 years from now and the corruption of the government, capitalizing on the innocence of the weak - poor and children for example during a virus outbreak. Its interesting to watch since we had a virus outbreak ourselves.

5) Las Chicas Del Cable

Another Spanish show set in the 1920s and probably one of my favorite. To me its about female empowerment and women working together to ensure that they succeed and that is really reiterated at the end of the show. It looked at queer identities too.

6) Charite and Charite at war

This is a German show. At first I found it really difficult to watch because I didn't really like the German accent but it really grew on me and I really loved it. They are both about medicine and treating patients in Germany in the 20th century. I particularly enjoyed Charite at war because it was interesting seeing the change the war had on Medical supplies and how they combated that difficulty. It puts into perspective the fact that this is STILL going on in many countries, especially in the middle east (Yemen and Syria).

7) Alta Mar

This is a great show. This had to grow on me too because at first it seemed like it would a very 2D show but the plot twists were really coming out of nowhere. HAHA. To me it looked at the betrayal of the people who you would least expect it and learning how to deal with that.

8) The theory of everything

This is a movie and its about Steven Hawking's life particularly focusing on his first relationship. I loved it because it reminded me of the unpredictability of life and regardless of who you are you can be loved and cared about.

9) Dead poets Society

This is NOT on netflix so oops I kind of lied but if you can find it somewhere please watch it. Its about the damage that peoples words can have on someone. Forcing what you believe onto someone to the extent that you have bled out their being. Someone feeling so suffocated that they feel like they have no choices. Learning about the repercussions of that sort of behavior.

10) Erased

OK lastly this is an anime. One of the first ones that I have completed and I am definitely not disappointed. It reminded me of something I always wished. To stop time or to go back. Does changing the events of the past truly make things better? I disagree with the notion of having no regrets. Having no regrets means that you will keep doing the same toxic behaviors that made you that way. By the way, this show had a great plot twist. BUT if you have watched something similar to this show it might be A BIT predictable.


Ok last thoughts. I really enjoyed that. I think I will try get into a better routine and attempt to do something that I saw somewhere. Writing a letter on three things. Love, time and death.


Thanks for reading and let me know if you found any of these interesting!

ImboredBlog x


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Youth Loneliness

Those two words may seem like an oxymoron. Two words that are not supposed to be seen together because loneliness is something reserved for the elderly and that's way into the future and doesn't effec

Lets talk: Quarantine edition

2020 really has been something huh. It was clearly not what I planned to spend the new year. From talks of WWIII to a deadly virus setting everyone into 'panic buy toilet paper mode' we really have li

Motivation

People really underestimate their worth and power in this world. They don't understand that they could be the next Gandhi or Einstein. People like them time and time again prove to us that no matter w

bottom of page